Hours of Operation

Monday – Friday, 9 am – 10 pm
Saturday, 9 am – 5 pm

Information for Weather or Emergency Closings

In the event of inclement weather or other emergencies:

Weeks in the School Year

  • Private Lessons: 32 lessons per year (30, 45, 60 minutes long)
  • Musicianship Classes: 30 classes per year (40, 55 minutes long)
  • Small Chamber Ensembles: 24 classes per year
  • Programs for Young Children (group music classes): 30 weeks per year (30, 40 minutes long)
  • Suzuki: 32 classes per year
  • Instrument Clubs: 32 classes per year

Academic Calendar for 2020-2021

School will not be in session on the dates listed below. Check the Student Handbook for a list of dates when make-up lessons will be offered when school is not in regular session.

  • Rosh Hashanah – Friday, September 18 and Saturday, September 19, 2020
  • Yom Kippur – Monday, September 28, 2020
  • Columbus Day – Monday, October 12, 2020
  • Election Day- Tuesday, November 3, 2020
  • Thanksgiving Recess – Last day of school Tuesday, November 24, 2020; School reopens on Monday, November 30, 2020
  • Winter Recess – Last day of school is Monday, December 21, 2020; School reopens on Monday, January 4, 2021
  • Martin Luther King Day – Monday, January 18, 2021
  • February Recess – Last day of school Friday, February 12, 2021; School reopens on Monday, February 22, 2021
  • Spring Recess – Last day of school is Saturday, March 27, 2021; School reopens on Monday, April 5, 2021
  • Memorial Day Weekend – Last day of school is Thursday, May 27, 2021; School reopens on Tuesday, June 1, 2021

First and Last Days of Semester

FIRST DAYS FALL SEMESTER:
Private Lesson Instruction, Clubs, Jazz Ensembles, Suzuki Groups
See detailed information here.

  • Friday, September 11, 2020: First Friday of Fall Semester
  • Saturday, September 12, 2020: First Saturday of Fall Semester
  • Monday, September 14, 2020: First Monday of Fall Semester
  • Tuesday, September 15, 2020: First Tuesday of Fall Semester
  • Wednesday, September 16, 2020: First Wednesday of Fall Semester
  • Thursday, September 17, 2020: First Thursday of Fall Semester

FIRST DAYS FALL SEMESTER:
Musicianship Classes, Chimes and Handbells, Sight-Singing and Ear Training, Chorus, Group Instrumental Classes, Music Technology Classes
See detailed information here.

  • Monday, September 21, 2020: First Monday of Fall Semester
  • Tuesday, September 22, 2020: First Tuesday of Fall Semester
  • Wednesday, September 23, 2020: First Wednesday of Fall Semester
  • Thursday, September 24, 2020: First Thursday of Fall Semester
  • Friday, September 25, 2020: First Friday of Fall Semester
  • Saturday, September 26, 2020: First Saturday of Fall Semester

FIRST DAYS FALL SEMESTER:
Early Childhood Music Program Classes *
See detailed information here.

  • Monday, October 19, 2020: First Monday of Fall Semester
  • Tuesday, October 20, 2020: First Tuesday of Fall Semester
  • Wednesday, October 21, 2020: First Wednesday of Fall Semester
  • Thursday, October 22, 2020: First Thursday of Fall Semester
  • Friday, October 23, 2020: First Friday of Fall Semester
  • Saturday, October 24, 2020: First Saturday of Fall Semester

* EXCEPTION: Beginning Musicianship: Listening and Learning in Action classes being as shown below:

  • Monday, 3:45 pm class begins on October 19 (same starting time as other Early Childhood classes; two make-up classes will be offered TBD.
  • Wednesday, 3:30 pm class begins on September 23.
  • Saturday, 9:30 am class begins on September 26.

FIRST DAYS FALL SEMESTER:
Virtual Performance Program Lab Ensembles (12 weeks)
Groups and specific schedules will be formed in early September; placement meetings will occur in late August through early September.
See detailed information here.

  • Mondays – starting Monday, October 19, 2020; ending Monday, January 11, 2021
  • Tuesdays – starting Tuesday, October 6, 2020; ending Tuesday, January 12, 2021
  • Wednesdays – starting Wednesday, October 7, 2020; ending Wednesday, January 13, 2021
  • Thursdays – Starting Thursday, October 8, 2020; ending Thursday, January 14, 2021
  • Fridays – starting Friday, October 9, 2020; ending Friday, January 15, 2021
  • Saturdays – starting Saturday, October 10, 2020; ending Saturday, January 16, 2021

FIRST DAYS FALL SEMESTER:
Adult Group Classes
See detailed information here.

  • Fridays – starting Friday, October 2, 2020 – Ring Your Bell!; ending Friday, December 11
  • Wednesdays – starting Wednesday, September 30, 2020 – Adult Group Piano Class for Beginning and Intermediate Students; ending Wednesday, December 9, 2020

LAST DAYS FALL SEMESTER:

  • Tuesday, January 19, 2021: Last Tuesday of Fall Semester
  • Wednesday, January 20, 2021: Last Wednesday of Fall Semester
  • Thursday, January 21, 2021: Last Thursday of Fall Semester
  • Friday, January 22, 2021: Last Friday of Fall Semester
  • Saturday, January 23, 2021: Last Saturday of Fall Semester
  • Monday, January 25, 2021: Last Monday of Fall Semester

FIRST DAYS SPRING SEMESTER:

  • Tuesday, January 26, 2021: First Tuesday of Spring Semester
  • Wednesday, January 27, 2021: First Wednesday of Spring Semester
  • Thursday, January 28, 2021: First Thursday of Spring Semester
  • Friday, January 29, 2021: First Friday of Spring Semester
  • Saturday, January 30, 2021: First Saturday of Spring Semester
  • Monday, February 1, 2021: First Monday of Spring Semester

LAST DAYS SPRING SEMESTER:

  • Tuesday, May 25, 2021: Last Tuesday of Spring Semester
  • Wednesday, May 26, 2021: Last Wednesday of Spring Semester
  • Thursday, May 27, 2021: Last Thursday of Spring Semester
  • Friday, June 4, 2021: Last Friday of Spring Semester
  • Monday, June 7, 2021: Last Monday of Spring Semester
  • Saturday, June 12, 2021: Last Saturday of Spring Semester

First and Last Days Adult Classes offered in partnership with Scarsdale Adult School

FIRST DAYS FALL TERM

  • Wednesday, September 30, 2020: First Wednesday of Adult Fall Term

LAST DAYS FALL TERM

  • Wednesday, December 9, 2020: Last Wednesday of Adult Fall Term

FIRST DAYS WINTER TERM

  • Monday, January 11, 2021: First Monday of Adult Winter Term
  • Tuesday, January 12, 2021: First Tuesday of Adult Winter Term
  • Wednesday, January 13, 2021: First Wednesday of Adult Winter Term
  • Thursday, January 14, 2021: First Thursday of Adult Winter Term
  • Friday, January 15, 2021: First Friday of Adult Winter Term
  • Saturday, January 16, 2021: First Saturday of Adult Winter Term

LAST DAYS WINTER TERM

  • Tuesday, March 23, 2021: Last Tuesday of Adult Winter Term
  • Wednesday, March 24, 2021: Last Wednesday of Adult Winter Term
  • Thursday, March 25, 2021: Last Thursday of Adult Winter Term
  • Friday, March 26, 2021: Last Friday of Adult Winter Term
  • Monday, April 5, 2021: Last Monday of Adult Winter Term
  • Saturday, April 10, 2021: Last Saturday of Adult Winter Term

FIRST DAYS SPRING TERM

  • Tuesday, April 13, 2021: First Tuesday of Adult Spring Term
  • Wednesday, April 14, 2021: First Wednesday of Adult Spring Term
  • Thursday, April 15, 2021: First Thursday of Adult Spring Term
  • Friday, April 16, 2021: First Friday of Adult Spring Term
  • Monday, April 19, 2021: First Monday of Adult Spring Term
  • Saturday, April 24, 2021: First Saturday of Adult Spring Term

LAST DAYS SPRING TERM

  • Tuesday, June 15, 2021: Last Tuesday of Adult Spring Term
  • Wednesday, June 16, 2021: Last Wednesday of Adult Spring Term
  • Thursday, June 17, 2021: Last Thursday of Adult Spring Term
  • Friday, June 25, 2021: Last Friday of Adult Spring Term
  • Monday, June 28, 2021: Last Monday of Adult Spring Term
  • Saturday, July 3, 2021: Last Saturday of Adult Spring Term

Useful Information for College Preparation

Find information about preparing for college here.